DST commits over R 250 million for human capital development and infrastructure initiatives

The Minister of Science and Technology, Mrs Naledi Pandor has approved the reprioritization of the Departmental 2010/11 budget to support the increased production of high level skills needed to support the National Research and Development Strategy. These funds will be allocated to the National Research Foundation, whose mandate is to support and promote research at universities, through funding, human resource development and the provision of the necessary research facilities in order to facilitate the creation of knowledge, innovation and development in all fields of science and technology.

The total allocation is R255.434 million, and will be used as follows:

  • R100 m for specified Human Resources Development (HRD) initiatives;
  • R50 m for scientific equipment under the national equipment     programme;
  • R50 m for emergency repairs and renewal of infrastructure and equipment at the National Research Facilities; and
  • R55.434 m for provision of broadband connectivity to specified universities under the South African National Research Network (SANReN).

The allocation of R100 for human resource development is to support the  national policy priority of growing and changing the equity profile and representatively of researchers and academics; supporting emerging researchers, particularly black and women researchers; and providing appropriate and adequate research infrastructure. The division of this allocation is as follows:   

  • Expansion of honours bursaries (R42 million);
  • Expansion of postdoctoral fellowships (R11,2 million);
  • Extension of bursary support to increase masters and doctoral graduation rates (R10 million);
  • Dedicated research support for women and young researchers (R25 million);
  • Improving academic qualifications of academics and researchers (R11,8 million);

The allocation of R55.434 million under the South African National Research Network (SANReN) will ensure broadband connectivity to rural universities, including the universities of Limpopo and Walter Sisulu.

Issued by the Ministry of Science and Technology

Lunga Ngqengelele

Ministerial Spokesperson